6 Followers
18 Following
NicoleeK

NicoleeK

This is where I talk mostly about Young Adult and New Adult books. Thanks for checking out my reviews :)

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson Review

The Sky Is Everywhere - Jandy Nelson

Goodreads Synposis:

 

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life - and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey's boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie's own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they're the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can't collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie's struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.
 

 

 

Review:

 

Wow this book gave me all the feels, I don't know how I hadn't read it before now!

 

I don't think I've ever read a contemporary book where the character lost a sibling before. I felt myself relating to Lennie's character so much. Having a sister myself and no other siblings I can understand the bond that they had. I can't imagine what Lennie was going through as even daring to think of losing my sister and her not being there to talk to every day made me want to completely shut down. This story perfectly depicted a family grieving for a loved one and the ways in which we try to get through it even if it's not always the right way.

 

Lennie and her family managed to overcome something that would have torn others apart and became closer because of it. When Lennie pushed her best friend Sarah away, I loved how even though she was hurt by it, she did't hold it against Lennie and was there for her when she needed. Although it was very weird I could understand why Lennie and Toby gravitated towards each other and confused the connection between them as they were both grieving for Bailey.

 

This was a story of heartbreak, loss, first love, and friendship that made me cry but also made me laugh. I really enjoyed this book and would definitely recommend it!